Modify Recoverable Items Folder – RetainDeletedItemsFor

Once you delete items from Outlook or have retention policies delete the data, it will end up in the Recoverable Items Folder. This post will detail how to check for and modify the time in which that data sits in the Recoverable Items Folder, before it’s purged from Exchange Online.

Chances are if you are reading this you know what the Recoverable Items Folder is and you know why you want to change the default time for the folder. Please be careful and be knowledgeable about how and what you are modifying here.  If you are unsure about the Recoverable Items Folder, please view the Microsoft TechNet article below. Consider this as your warning.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee364755(v=exchg.150).aspx

 

Per Microsoft:

To protect from accidental or malicious deletion and to facilitate discovery efforts commonly undertaken before or during litigation or investigations, Microsoft Exchange Server 2013 and Exchange Online use the Recoverable Items folder. The Recoverable Items folder replaces the feature that was known as the dumpster in earlier versions of Exchange. The Recoverable Items folder is used by the following Exchange features:

  • Deleted item retention
  • Single item recovery
  • In-Place Hold
  • Litigation Hold
  • Mailbox audit logging
  • Calendar logging

 

This BLOG post will walk through the steps of setting the RetainDeletedItemsFor value for both the Mailbox and the Mailbox Plan in Office 365 (Exchange Online). The Microsoft default value for this setting is 14 days. The value is modified with PowerShell connection to Exchange Online. One thing to note is that if you have changed the default value on premise, you will also have to set the same value in Exchange Online as the mailbox you are moving to Exchange Online will get the value from Exchange Online.

 

View the current MailboxPlan settings in Exchange Online

Get-MailboxPlan |ft Name,RetainDeletedItemsFor

 

View the current setting per mailbox in Exchange Online

Get-Mailbox -Identity User.Name | fl Identity,RetainDeletedItemsFor

 

View the current setting all Mailboxes in Exchange Online

Get-Mailbox | fl Identity,RetainDeletedItemsFor

Note that some of the names have been blacked out for security purposes. Yes, people try to hack the users in my blog posts, even though I only use them once and they are deleted after.


 

Changing the Default Values

The value can be changed per mailbox or for the whole mailbox plan. Per mailbox is just as it sounds, it’s only for that one mailbox. Per mailbox plan will catch all the newly created mailboxes (including those migrated). It’s important to note that if you modify the setting after mailboxes have been created or migrated to Exchange Online, you will have to modify the value on those mailboxes as well as the mailbox plan. Basically after modifying the mailbox plan, all new mailboxes will get the new setting, while existing mailboxes will have to be updated.

 

The default value is set to 14 days. The max value that you can set is 30 days.

 

Change the current setting for the MailboxPlan in Exchange Online

Get-MailboxPlan | Set-MailboxPlan -RetainDeletedItemsFor XX

The screen shot below shows the command to change the setting, followed by the command to verify.

 

Change the current setting per mailbox

Set-Mailbox –Identity username@domain.com -RetainDeletedItemsFor XX

The screen shot below shows the command to change the setting, followed by the command to verify.

 

Thanks for visiting and reading my posts. I am always looking for more ideas. Please comment or email me with what you would like to see.

Kelsey Epps Office365 MVP

Email Me Follow me on Twitter Connect with me on LinkedIN

Leave a Reply